The Delta Discovery - The real news for the real people

2nd Annual Ayaprun Immersion Tournament


The 2nd Annual Ayaprun Elitnaurvik Fundraiser basketball tournament was held last week at the Bethel Armory gym. On the Women’s bracket, the Tuntutuliak Vixens were the champions, beating the Bethel 1 team 55 to 49. High scorers were Fredrika Lupie with 31 and Jennifer Evan with 10 for Tuntutuliak. Also scoring for Tunt were Brittany Nicholai 6, Carlotta Evan 4, and Maryann Frank with 2. For Bethel1 Kenlynn Nicholai had 20, Lisa Brown 16, Jasmine Polk 5, and Michelle Langlie 2 for Bethel 1.

For the Men’s 35 and Over tournament, BNC beat AVCP 85 to 45. Scorers for BNC were Sam Crow 21, Benny Beaver 21, Axel Moses 18, Isa Fredericks 8, Joe Sallaffie 4, Jamie Kellen 18, Peter Isaac 4, and Gary Turner 2. For AVCP, Greg Lincoln with 23 points, John Owens 2, Bosco Hooper 1, Phillip Brink 11, Dale Moses 10, Andy Charlie 8, and Allen Alirkar 11.

On the other Men’s bracket, the Gunnerz beat ERA 98 to 88. Scoring for the Gunnerz was Wayne Brown with 18. Also scoring were Chris Lowe 10, Roger Lowe 8, Travis Andrew 4, Ben Pete 9, Garis Kinegak 9, Phillip Alexie 18, Ishmael Andrew scored 13, Greg Turner had 9. ERA star Mike Polk scored 20. Also scoring for ERA were Adolph Paul 16, Mike Charlie 14, Thurman Jack 16, Dolan Fox 6, Dale Moses 16, and Paul Slats 2. The tournament was a fundraiser for the Ayaprun Elitnaurviat Jr. NYO team to travel to the state JNYO tournament in Anchorage.

You might be interested in:

Reader Comments

Rendered 09/28/2016 15:08