The Delta Discovery - The real news for the real people

Fewer Alaska Post Offices risk closure


The United States Postal Service has confirmed they have removed all but 5 post offices from the original list of those being considered for closure in Alaska.

The communities in which post office changes are no longer being considered are: Aleknagik, Anvik, Beaver, Bettles Field, Chitina, Circle, Clarks Point, Clear, Crooked Creek, Ekwok, Hughes, Kaltag, Karluk, Kobuk, Koyukuk, Lake Minchumina, Levelock, Manley Hot Springs, Minto, Nikolski, Nondalton, Platinum, Point Baker, Red Devil, Shageluk, Skwentna, Sleetmute, Stevens Village, Tyonek, Wales, and White Mountain.

The five post offices remaining on the list for potential closure are: Anchorage Postal Store, Fort Wainwright, Elmendorf AFB, Eielson AFB, and Douglas.

You might be interested in:

Reader Comments

Rendered 09/27/2016 23:09